Almost to the end

Ladies and Gentlemen I can see the light at the end of the tunnel; I am almost done with this deployment.

I think that comparing a deployment to a tunnel is fair. I can see how the hopelessness of being stuck in the middle messed with my sanity. The biggest question that I have is if I will look back thirty or forty years from now and say that I did my part now that my deployment and military service is coming to an end.

Throughout the years here in the Army sometimes it feels like I’ve left a little piece of my heart in every place that I’ve been and sometimes it’s hard to keep going everyday. But like the men and women before us, we do our best to learn from the mistakes and to appreciate the little things in life. Like today for instance, I had an orange for the first time in maybe eleven months. When I peeled and bit into that orange it tasted like the best orange that I have ever ate. In retrospect it was probably a horrible orange, but my taste buds had been deprived of it for too long.

I would love to say that I did not learn anything throughout this year because it would have been much easier for those around me and I. The difficult part of deployment is being alone for a year. You start learning so much about yourself as the journey continues. Some days you can wake up mad at the world for no reason and some days you’re good. I’ve learned to take the good with the bad and keep on truckin’.

Leave a Reply

