What do you get when you have a group of people with different accents around each other all the time? A very distinctive form of dialects is what the end result is. I have had the opportunity to work with people from all over the world and my language has changed considerably.

I was at the gym on post last week when I heard and individual speaking Spanish. I asked him what country his dialect came from, to which he replied “Army”. I laughed because although he was of Mexican decent, I had personally never heard his dialect. The great thing about our country is the diverse group of people that make-up our armed forces. He was explaining to me that before he joined he would have never used certain words, but being around different ethnic groups had changed his dialect.

I personally work with several different individuals ranging from Arabic backgrounds to Hispanic to Southern Country. One thing that I have noticed is that in times of great stress or anger our original accent comes out, whether it is Arabic, Spanish, or Country American. I find it interesting that we use words at work, that back at home we would have never heard of. I had never heard of the word “Yolked”, a co-worker of mine from Wisconsin was talking about getting “Yolked” at the gym. I looked at him and said, “What the f*ck are you saying dude?”, to which he replied, “Uh…you know getting big, muscular”. I just laughed because I found it amusing.

 

I’ll continue this later on, hope y’all are having a great weekend.

What do you get…

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

