Moment of silence

I try to periodically check the military casualty list whenever I get a chance to. My heart starts beating faster when I click on the list, hoping that nobody I know is on it. Day by day the list gets longer. My heart almost skips a beat when I click on the list because their is fear with each click. Nobody wants tragedy to hit close to home. So I am taking this post and dedicating it to Spc. Krystal Fitts, who died 17 July in Afghanistan. I personally had no idea who she was, but she was from my hometown. Houstonians have a strange bond, we might not know each other but we all love our city.

We must honor the brave men and women who have put their lives on the line for this great country. We cannot go forward without remembering the sacrifices that these heroes have paid. I think that is what makes our country unique, we believe in the American Dream, and people are willing to fight for that belief. Many people might not agree with our war, but to try to belittle the sacrifices is never the answer.

Image

I pray for hope I pray for peace
I pray for unity between you and me
I pray the heavens will open some day and
God’s loving voice will sweep down and say
Deep in the heart of a war
I hear a Soldier’s Prayer.

http://blog.chron.com/newswatch/2012/07/houston-soldier-dies-in-afghanistan/

Leave a Reply

